Call us today: +212665164076
You can use WPML or Polylang and their language switchers in this area.

How to get a visa for Morocco : a complete manual

How to get a visa for Morocco : a complete manual

When thinking of visiting Morocco to discover the hustling and bustling of the red city of Marrakech, take instagramable pictures in the blue city of Chefchaouen, to get close to nature in the high atlas mountains or to just relax by the beaches of Essaouira, the first question that comes to mind is whether the visa is required to visit Morocco or not


This article will give you all the information you need to know about moroccan visa : starting from the requirements for Morocco’s visa, fees of the visa to Morocco, application to Morocco’s visa and will answer the most common questions about this topic.


  • Is a visa required to visit Morocco?
  • Is a travel authorization required to visit Morocco ?
  • Is it possible to get an e-visa or online visa to visit Morocco?
  • Is it possible to get an online travel authorization ETA to visit Morocco?



To enter Morocco, you will either need a visa, a travel authorization or none of the previous. The requirements of entry to Morocco change from nationality to another. Nationalities all over the world need a visa or a travel authorization to visit Morocco except the following 65 countries that are allowed to enter Morocco without any visa or travel authorization needed:


VISA-Exempt countries to visit Morocco
Algeria Andorra Argentina Australia Austria
Bahrain Belgium Brazil Bulgaria Canada
Chile China Croatia Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland France Gabon Germany
Greece Hong Kong Hungary Iceland Indonesia
Ireland Italy Ivory Coast Japan Kuwait
Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau
Malta Mexico Monaco Netherlands New Zealand
Niger Norway Oman Peru Philippines
Poland Portugal Qatar Republic of Cyprus Romania
Russian Federation San Marino Saudi Arabia Senegal Singapore
Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland
Tunisia Turkey United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States


*For Hong Kong and Singapore, the citizens are only allowed to stay up to 30 days.




Your country doesn’t figure on the list ?


If your nationality is not exempted from the visa to enter Morocco, you will either need a visa or a travel authorization. Two options are available, travelers can get their visa/travel authorization online or they can simply get their visa at their nearest Moroccan embassy or consulate.


Below you will find more details on how to get a visa to visit Morocco.


1- Morocco e-visa (or online ETA)

Since July 2022, Morocco has given to tourists the possibility to apply for their visa online without the need to present any paperwork in person. The procedure is 100% digital, quick and easy to get done. 

  • What do I need to apply for an E-visa for Morocco?

-A passeport from an eligible country

-An email address

-Debit or credit card for the payment of around $23.

-You will need to fill some of your personal information

  •  Where can I apply for an e-visa for Morocco ?

You can use the following link to apply for an e-visa for Morocco: 

The validity of the Moroccan visa for tourists is up to 180 days from the date of issue or the date of expiration of your passport, make sure to check that. Also, you can use the online visa to stay up to 30 days in Morocco.

  • Is my country eligible to apply for an e-visa to Morocco ?

The countries that can apply for an online visa to get to Morocco are of a number of 100 and are listed as follows:


Countries eligible to apply for online E-visa for Morocco
Albania Angola Antigua and Barbuda Armenia Azerbaijan Bangladesh Barbados
Belarus Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina
Botswana Brunei Darussalam Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros Congo Costa Rica Cuba Djibouti Dominica
Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia
Federated States of Micronesia Fiji Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala
Guinea Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras India Israel Jamaica
Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Kyrgyzstan Laos Liberia
Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mauritania Mauritius
Mongolia Montenegro Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nepal Nicaragua
Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Rwanda Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Sao Tome and Principe
Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Korea Sri Lanka
Sudan Suriname Swaziland Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand
Togo Trinidad and Tobago Turkmenistan Uganda Ukraine Uruguay Uzbekistan
Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Zambia Zimbabwe


  • Should I apply for an e-visa or an online ETA for Morocco ? 

First of all, we should poij=nt out the difference between an e-visa and an ETA. An e-visa is not an ETA. The difference resides in the duration of validity of each one. E-visa lasts generally shorter than ETA. The E-visa lasts for 30 days for only one single entry whereas the ETA lasts longer and offers the possibility of multiple entries to Morocco. However, to be able to apply tp ETA to get into Morocco, your country should be eligible to apply for this electronic travel authorization. 

Only 5 nationalities can apply for ETA for Morocco and they are as follows:

  • Guinea
  • Israël
  • Thailand
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Mali


2- Morocco Embassy or Consular Visa


Your country doesn’t figure on the list of e-visa ?


The Moroccan visa policy affirms that around 75 countries should apply for the visa at a Moroccan government office in person, not the digital way.


  • How do I apply for a consular visa ? 

To apply for a consular visa, the procedure to follow is as below:

  • First you start by making an appointment at the nearest Moroccan government office to you.
  • You will then have to complete your application form by providing some documentation requested for the application process.
  • It is advisable to check the types of visa existent before taking the appointment so that you end up choosing the form that suits your needs the best.
  • It can take up to several weeks for you to get the visa. That’s why you should start your visa procedure way ahead of the date of your departure.


  • Is my country eligible to apply for a Morocco consular visa ? 

To know if your nationality has the possibility to apply for a consular visa at a government Moroccan office, take a look on the following table that lists the countries that are eligible for this visa option: 


Countries eligible for Morocco Consular Visa
Afghanistan Aland Islands American Samoa Anguilla Antarctica Aruba Bahamas
Bonaire British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Burkina Faso Cayman Islands Christmas Island Cocos Islands
Colombia Cook Islands Curacao Democratic Republic of the Congo Falkland Islands Faroe Islands French Guiana
French Polynesia Gibraltar Greenland Guadeloupe Guam Guernsey Guinea
Iran Iraq Isle of Man Jersey Lebanon Lesotho Libya
Mali Marshall Islands Martinique Mayotte Moldova Montserrat Nauru
New Caledonia Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Korea Northern Mariana Islands Palau
Palestinian Territory Pitcairn Islands Puerto Rico Reunion Saint Barthelemy Saint Helena Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia Saint Martin Saint Pierre and Miquelon Samoa Sint Maarten Solomon Islands South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
South Sudan Svalbard and Jan Mayen Syrian Arab Republic Timor Leste Tokelau Tonga Turks and Caicos Islands
Tuvalu United States Virgin Islands Vatican City Wallis and Futuna Yemen 


Open chat
Scan the code
Can we help you?